Young Indigenous writers prize

Young Indigenous writers prize

The Nakata Brophy Short Fiction and Poetry Prize for Young Indigenous Writers was established in 2014 and is to be awarded annually.

Indigenous writers prize 658x168This prize recognises the work of young Indigenous writers It is the first of its kind in Victoria, and complements Trinity’s ongoing commitment to Indigenous education and reconciliation.

It is named after the first two Indigenous students to be resident at Trinity College – Sana Nakata and Lilly Brophy – who both enrolled in 2001.

Dr Nakata is now a lecturer in the School of Social and Political Sciences at the University of Melbourne, and Dr Brophy is a vet in Deloraine, Tasmania.

The aim of the prize is to provide the winner with the opportunity to focus on their writing.

In 2014 the prize was awarded in the category of best poem or suite of poems. Thereafter it will alternate between poetry and short fiction.

The prize includes $5,000, a place as Writer-in-Residence at Trinity for a period of three to six months, and publication of the successful piece in the May/June 2014 edition of Overland.

The judges of the inaugural prize will be Trinity’s Provost Campbell Bairstow, Overland poetry editor Dr Peter Minter, and the Aboriginal writer and academic Dr Tony Birch.

Applications for the 2016 prize are now open. Prize guidelines and entry here

Past winners

2014 prize winner: Jessica Hart. Read more

2015 prize winner: Marika Duczynski. Read more

Entry conditions

  • The prize is open to Indigenous writers who are 30 years or younger at the closing date of the competition.
  • The work – in the form of short fiction for the 2015 award – must be unpublished at the time of entry.
  • Entrants must be Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia.
  • Writers must complete and submit a Confirmation of Aboriginality Form.
  • Submission of work will be processed electronically and judged anonymously. The author’s name must not appear on the submitted document.
  • The prize will be awarded at the judges’ discretion and they reserve the right to not select a winner if entries are not of a sufficient standard for the current year.
  • The closing date is 10 March 2016. Late applications will not be considered.

For more information, contact Provost, Campbell Bairstow, Trinity College: